Peanut Butter Chocolate Cheesecake

Last week I made the decision to cut sugar out of my diet. Completely. Which also meant giving up coffee because coffee without sugar is just not my thing. I had a headache for 3 straight days and finally, a week later, I feel good. I really put off posting this cheesecake because I was struggling with the sugar addiction. I craved the cheesecake for weeks after it was gone and, if I had another one, I could probably eat the whole thing in one sitting.

I made this as my birthday cake and the week leading up to my birthday I was searching for the perfect peanut butter chocolate cheesecake. This was definitely it. As mentioned in previous posts, my favourite cheesecake bakery has amazing peanut butter chocolate cheesecake…. but this recipe totally blows theirs out of the water!

Be warned, if you are a sugar addict, this will NOT help the addiction.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Cheesecake

Ingredients

2 cups Oreo crumbs
2 tablespoons butter, melted
4x 8 ounce packages cream cheese, room temperature
5 eggs, room temperature
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup whipping cream
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 bag mini peanut butter cups
Topping:
1/2 cup peanut butter
6 ounces semi-sweet chocolate
3/4 cup heavy cream
15-20 mini peanut butter cups (saved from the cheesecake ingredients)
Directions

Preheat oven to 350°. Stir together Oreo crumbs and 2 tablespoons melted butter. Press into the bottom of a 9″ springform pan and bake for 15 minutes. Cool.
Beat cream cheese with a mixer until smooth. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well between each. Add sugar, peanut butter, and cream; mix thoroughly. Stir in vanilla. Pour half of the mixture into the cooled crust, layer with 2 cups of mini peanut butter cups, then top with remaining cheesecake mixture.
Bake for 1 to 1 1/2 hours. The sides of the cheesecake should be set but the middle will be a little jiggly. (it should not be runny) Cool slightly then put it into the refrigerator for at least 4 hours. 
Chop up the chocolate and melt it in a double boiler (or microwave). Cool slightly then add all but 1 tablespoon of cream. Stir and then pour over the cool cheesecake (while still in the springform pan). Refrigerate for 30 minutes. 
Place peanut butter and 1 tablespoon of whipping cream in a bowl and microwave until it’s a runny consistency. Either place the mixture in a piping bag or using a spoon, top the cheesecake with a peanut butter swirl. Before the swirl sets, surround the outer edge of the cheesecake with the remaining mini peanut butter cups. 
Recipe adapted from Baking With Ramen.

24 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Cheesecake

  1. This looks absolutely delicious!!!! I too have just recently cut sugar out of my diet and after seeing this I am wondering why????? 🙂 Although I will for sure have to make this for my family and will need to practice much self control and will power not to eat it! Good Luck to you!

  2. Your photographs are absolutely beautiful! May I make a suggestion? I'd love to see them larger… the whole width of your column. You may cause your readers to drool even more! Love your blog!

  3. Thanks for the compliment. I have no idea how to make the pictures the width of the column but if you click them, it makes them full size. I wish I was more technologically advanced. LOL

  4. oh…my…god…yum.and i quote…(my husband's reaction when i called him over to look at this post)"Good for you sister! This is going to be *MY* next birthday cake!!!!"

  5. When I saw this photo on Tastespotting, I think my eyes bugged out of my head! This is amazing. There is nothing better than the peanut butter/chocolate combo. This cheesecake just looks like absolute heaven!

  6. It's always SO NICE to hear of someone else with a total utter sugar addiction. I mean…not nice. But you know what I mean. Makes me feel less crazy. :PThis cake is AMAZING. And likely totally worth re-starting that addiction for.

  7. Hi, could you please tell me how many ounces the bag of mini pb cups is that you used? And are they the individually wrapped pb cups or are they even smaller than those?This looks delicious!!!

  8. I remember my crash after I cut out sugar. It was the worst and my whole body craved it, wanted it! It made me so GRUMPY. I pushed through and I'll never forget the first bite of something sweet after 2 months of sugar free…It was yuck I couldn't believe how sweet it was! I'm trying to find balance in the sugar game…I'm pretty sure I can find room for this. 🙂

  9. This look delicious and I am cooking it tomorrow! Couple of questions…for the oreo crumbs, should I crumble entire Oreo cookies, or just the wafer part (should I leave the filling as part of the crumble?). Also, when the cake is completely finished, should I keep it in the fridge or is it okay to sit out at room temperature?

  10. I made this! And it was awesome. Sold all 16 slices at a company bake sale for Share our Strength. Thank you for the idea and recipe – I'll do it again some time!

  11. Jacqueline, just use boxed Oreo crumbs (they are sold near the graham wafer crumbs). Keep the cake in the fridge unless you are planning on serving it all at once.

  12. Funny, I'm doing Atkins right now as my wedding is in a week and I want to look my best 🙂 but I'm making this cheesecake as we speak to take to a BBQ tonight. I'm so proud of myself, I didn't even eat one mini reece's cup ;)I found that cream cheese stuck to the bottom of my mixing bowl (used my stand mixer) and so at the end I just carefully poured the mix in my springform without getting that 'raw' cream cheese in there. I scraped down the sides of my bowl during mixing, but I guess I should have done the bottom too. Oh well, the dog got to have a nice treat.I will have to update you and let you know how it looks when I'm done! Thanks for the recipe!

  13. This looks wonderful…. would like to try it but my husband has a peanut sensitivity….so better not as I am sure he would eat it all, but will keep it in mind for when we have company.

  14. I had a question about the topping. The ingredients call for 3/4 cup of whipping cream but when you prepare the chocolate and the peanut butter toppings they only call for 1Tbsp. Is this a typo? My chocolate was not runny so I was wondering if it was because I needed to add more whipping cream. Thanks so much. I'm looking forward to having a piece tomorrow as I like for my cheesecake to chill for at least 24 hours.

  15. In the topping, you use all but 1 tablespoon in the chocolate. The remaining tablespoon of whipping cream goes with the peanut butter to drizzle.

Leave a comment